How to not look like an idiot whilst skiing

Quick catch-up, I haven’t posted anything about it here but I’m in the middle of a skiing trip!

I figured I should share my revelations.. so, here is a list of tips for beginners!

  1. Try not to go too fast when you start out: I did, and I ended up falling over onto my hip on my first run… It was painful! If you can, try to find a relatively wide run with few to no really steep areas and get your confidence there before moving on to other routes.
  2. Zig zag! If you’re having trouble getting the hang of it, try to zig-zag across the run as much as possible. On my first run I went straight down the hill and racked up speed very quickly! The more you zig zag, the flatter your route becomes! It’ll also make your run last longer, so you can get the most practice out of each run!
  3. If you’re going too fast, make the snow work for you! I figured this out pretty quickly: if you want to keep the speed down, try to ski over the little piles of snow you’ll see on the hill, the ones made by other skiers and snowboarders. When you go through them they slow you down a little, plus they’re great for turning if you’re not going too fast. On the other hand, there will be icy patches where the skis will slip a little – don’t panic! Just try to get over them, and try to make sure you don’t go directly down them (unless you can handle the speed!)
  4. Be aware: As much as people are supposed to make sure they don’t crash into others, that doesn’t stop collisions from happening from time to time, especially if you’re not in full control when you’re just starting out! Top offenders here are kids and snowboarders. I got hit on day one by a snowboarder, and my boyfriend got hit multiple times by kids… so be careful!
  5. Focus on your weight: The key to skiing well (or looking like you can) is to nail the motion of shifting your weight from one side to the other at the right time. Too little, and you’ll take forever to turn, too much and you’ll end up hurting your leg.
  6. Perfect the snow plow: The snow plow is your best friend. You can use it to get all the way down the mountain, or just to slow down and turn when you need to. But make sure you get it right!
  7. Stay in control: Repeat it over and over again as you do the runs. As you get more confident, go a bit faster and repeat ‘I’ll go as fast as I want to’ in your head, or something along those lines.
  8. Practice, practice, practice! It won’t come fast, and it won’t come easy – and you probably will fall over a couple of times, but if you work at it and persevere, you’ll be skiing well in no time!

That’s all I can think of off the top of my head – hope it helps!

What do you think?

