Taxi freewriting 22.2.13 (2)

Freedom.

Why is it that people genuinely believe we can’t do anything?

I could do anything I wanted if I put my mind to it, that’s something I’ve been sure of for my whole life. Back when Mrs Johnson said I could be a rocket scientist if I really wanted to.

There are so many things I want to do.

Learn the sax

Learn the piano

Learn the violin

Hell, even if it’s just one song, I just want to be able to say, YES, I tried it and I did it!

When I see people who are so closed it makes me sad, they’re so settled in their life. They’re happy to go to their 9 to 5 job, and maybe have a beer or two with a mate every once in a while.

That’d make me go crazy. I couldn’t bear it!

Maybe that’s why I’ve never really excelled at one individual thing. Cricket, I’m average. Piano, I’m average. Below, really. Education, average.

Sometimes I do wish I had one overriding passion that encompassed my life wholeheartedly. Say cricket, then I’d at least be amazing at one thing. But no! I’m too interested in things… ah curiosity is a curse.

I suppose the way I’m heading I’ll end up as one of those passepartout characters… which I have no objection to! At least I’ll end up an interesting old lady.

In 50 years. I want to be able to say, ‘you know what? Yes. I had an amazing life! I did this and this and this…’

What do you think?

