Shanghai Dumpling Restaurant

20130829-193342.jpg

Mmmm, I love me some Asian food. Not surprising really, considering I’m from Hong Kong. But I have to say, most of the Asian food overseas isn’t all that good. Shanghai Dumpling Restaurant is not one of those. My friends first introduced me to this hidden gem two years ago, and it’s still one of my favourite restaurants in all of Melbourne.

I love it because firstly it’s really tucked away, down an alleyway off of Chinatown, secondly because of the taste, and thirdly because of the price! Whenever I go, I always get the all-you-can-eat deal, which is $15 a head (minimum 4 people, sometimes they’ll let you do it with three people though, shh), and you get a range of dishes – pictured below – but what I love most is that you don’t initially get to pick what you want, they just start bringing out plates of food!

It’s brilliant.

My personal favourite dishes are the steamed vegetable dumpling and the pumpkin cake (both pictured above, left and middle respectively). So yes, if you’re in Melbourne and like Asian cuisine, this place is a must-try!

20130829-193408.jpg

Shanghai Dumpling Restaurant

25 Tattersalls Lane, Melbourne

Recommended dish: $15 all you can eat

 

2 thoughts on “Shanghai Dumpling Restaurant

What do you think?

