Lights, camera, action!

There are two kinds of movies being made nowadays in my opinion: those intended to be deep and thoughtful and to win awards at prestigious film festivals, and those intended to get the most bang for their buck at the box office.

Here’s a bit of a test to prove my point: name five movies that are currently showing in your local theatre. Easy, right? Now name just three movies that were at the Cannes Film Festival.

Yeah, I couldn’t either. I tested this on myself before writing this down, and I failed. I knew that ‘The Great Gatsby’ was at Cannes, and that ‘Only Lovers Left Alive’ was there as well, but I couldn’t for the life of me name a third.

Now admittedly most of the films shown at Cannes and other more ‘intellectual’ award festivals (more so than the Oscars etc) are not shown in most movie theatres, and that’s simply because there’s no money in it. There’s not a wide enough audience that appreciates this kind of movie anymore, with patrons instead tripping over each other to queue up to see the likes of ‘We’re the Millers’ and other such predictable stories.

Again, I fall into this category having seen the aforementioned movie… But I’m not trying to place myself above everyone else, instead just stating what I see all around me!

Now these kinds of movies – the ones that have posters plastered all over town with big box office premieres – all seem to have the same formula:

Screen Shot 2013-10-01 at 5.53.57 PMScreen Shot 2013-10-01 at 5.58.36 PMScreen Shot 2013-10-01 at 6.03.32 PM Screen Shot 2013-10-01 at 6.04.49 PM

What I would love is for a movie to seemingly follow this pattern, but then maybe a third of the way through just completely derail from the predictable ‘next step’ and actually surprise me.

Now that’s something I’d pay to see.

What do you think?

